Almond Biscotti

Almond Biscotti, from Smitten Kitchen

This recipe is perfect, easy to make and easy to eat.

The only liberty I took was not including the orange liqueur, and only because I didn’t have any on hand. Other than that, I didn’t change a thing, which is rare, because I always want to fiddle with something.

One note – keep an eye on the baking time. I checked on mine after 8 minutes (after flipping them over), found that they were still a bit soft, and so left them in the oven for a few minutes more. When I pulled them out, they were more than golden brown. Had I checked on them even a minute earlier, the biscotti probably would have had more of a sexy, sun-kissed beach glow, and less of a Jersey Shore-esque fake-bake.

But I digress. The toasted, nutty taste of the almonds, with the brightness of the orange zest, mellowed by the underlying hint of vanilla. Not overly sweet, perfect when dunked in coffee.

Oh, and if you feel so inclined, take a few of these and dip them in chocolate for an extra bit of indulgence. Trust me.

20130603-131935.jpg

20130603-131944.jpg

20130603-131953.jpg

20130603-132000.jpg

20130609-105238.jpg

Leave a Reply

